Free Book Online
Categories
Women's Nonfiction: A Guide to Reading Interests (Real Stories)

Pdf

Women's Nonfiction: A Guide to Reading Interests (Real Stories)

4.5 (4168)

Log in to rate this item

    Available in PDF Format | Women's Nonfiction: A Guide to Reading Interests (Real Stories).pdf | Unknown
    Jessica Zellers
What is it that women want to know? As it turns out, a lot! Focusing on the reading interests of women, this guide maps and describes nonfiction that spans every Dewey category. What makes this body of literature unique is that it is written specifically for a female readership, and directly addresses women's issues. The author annotates more than 600 titles, with hundreds of additional titles referenced as read-alikes. Although women's fiction is widely treated as a reading interest and even a genre, until now its nonfiction counterpart has not been seriously considered outside of scholarly circles. Yet, there is a body of popular literature that specifically appeals to women. This is clearly evident in the collections of women's bookstores, which carry life stories, personal and spiritual growth collections, guides to health, wellness and beauty, and so on.Zellers's guide is designed to help readers and librarians navigate the breadth of nonfiction to find popular titles about women and women's experiences. Annotating some 600 titles, with hundreds more referenced as read-alikes: it is a valuable in readers' advisory services, as well as a great source for creating displays and programs (particularly during Women's History month). It may also be a useful resource for women's studies programs.  
4.2 (7273)
  • Pdf

*An electronic version of a printed book that can be read on a computer or handheld device designed specifically for this purpose.

Formats for this Ebook

PDF
Required Software Any PDF Reader, Apple Preview
Supported Devices Windows PC/PocketPC, Mac OS, Linux OS, Apple iPhone/iPod Touch.
# of Devices Unlimited
Flowing Text / Pages Pages
Printable? Yes

Book details

  • PDF | 442 pages
  • Jessica Zellers
  • Libraries Unlimited
  • Unknown
  • 10
  • Literature Fiction
Read online or download a free book: Women's Nonfiction: A Guide to Reading Interests (Real Stories)

Review Text

Name:
The message text:

Miscellanea